Best Drill Press Reviews 2019 – Reviews & Buying Guide

Every quarter, there are hundreds of new drill press models available in the market and many of them have some of the other enhanced & innovative features you’ve never heard before. Hence choosing the best drill press is a difficult task, because you can not test all the drill press machines available out there due to lack of resources. That’s why we have spent 200+ hours testing various drill presses available in the market, and to be honest – most of them sucked!

But still, we found so many interesting models which are work spending your money on. We update our pages regularly so you’re always viewing the freshest information and latest product selections. Here is the list of drill press machines and individual review of every drill press which is perfect for anyone out there:

Best Drill Press 2019

1. WEN 4214 12-Inch Variable Speed Drill Press

The WEN 4214 12-inch variable is a powerful drill press that comes with an inductive motor of ⅔ horsepower and is effective enough that it can drill through almost all things from metal sheets, plastics to lower density woods. It comes with a speed range of 580 RPMS – 3200 RMPS, that comes with an LED readout which displays the speed on it.

WEN 4214 12-Inch Variable Speed Drill Press Price: $272.49 WEN 4214 12-Inch Variable Speed Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

The speed of this drill press is one of the major selling points in the market. It is solid, sturdy and comes with an adjustable worktable that is made of cast iron, which helps to maintain its durability.

The swing of this model from WEN has a length of 12 inches, which means that it can easily a material of about 6 inches at one time. It further comes with a laser guiding system that helps for a smooth drilling experience so that you can make precise holes when needed with accurate depth and spacing. It also gives users work light to enhance your visibility when working with it. Furthermore, you will also see a self-ejecting key in this device that helps to leave the chuck after you are done drilling with it.

Overall it is a powerful speed drill press that offers its user accuracy, longevity, and smooth operation when working with it. The sturdy built-up of this drill press provides for a heavy-duty drilling that can be really useful for professional applications.

2. Shop Fox W1668 ¾-HP 13-Inch Bench-Top Drill Press

Another budget-friendly pick, Shop Fox W1668 ¾-HP 13-Inch Bench-Top Drill Press is recommended for the professionals who require enhanced performance.

Shop Fox W1668 ¾-HP 13-Inch Bench-Top Drill Press Price: $487.95 Shop Fox W1668 ¾-HP 13-Inch Bench-Top Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

It’s powered by a motor of 0.75 Horsepower, which was enough during our testing period. You can choose the RPM speeds between 250 and 3050. The machine fits perfectly with the various drilling needs, even while using harder substances.

There are a few features that we loved in this drill press, particularly the tilting table, which can be used for angled drilling.

Setting up the table and rearranging it during the drilling process was also simple, thanks to the spindle travel. Moreover, the design uses the floor space in the most efficient manner.

Altogether, for a reasonable price you pay, Shop Fox W1668 is surely a worthy choice.

3. Delta 18-900 L 18-Inch Laser Drill Press

Equipped with a powerful laser system, Delta 18-900L is the best floor drill press we came across. If you are a professional, you will really love this machine, despite the expensive price tag. For instance, due to its auto-tensioning belt drive system, it feels really easy to adjust speeds during drilling. If you are in for repetitive drilling process, you can make use of the depth stops too.

Delta 18-900L 18-Inch Laser Drill Press Price: $849.19 Delta 18-900L 18-Inch Laser Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

Ranging from 170 to 3000, Delta 18-900L  offers 16 different speeds that you will be able to pick. The working table is so big and can be set at an angle up to 90 Degrees, either left or right.

Even while you are doing an angled hole, the laser crosshair system is quite helpful. Because it’s a floor drill press, the overall build is somewhat sturdier than you expect.

At the end of the day, if you can a bit more, Delta 18-900L offers the best experience.

4. JET 354170/JDP-20MF 20-Inch Floor Drill Press

This is the second Jet floor drill press we are featuring on the list. And, we have a few reasons why it is here: an ultra-powerful motor of 1.5HP and adjustable speeds that can vary from 150 to 4200.

JET 354170/JDP-20MF 20-Inch Floor Drill Press Price: $1,193.79 JET 354170/JDP-20MF 20-Inch Floor Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

Despite these, you don’t have to pay more than $1000 for this machine. It also comes with some additional features like working light, relatively lower weight etc.

Coming to real-life testing, JET 354170 did quite well. As we expected, its 1.5HP motor goes well with almost all dimensions of wood. Located on the front portion, the power button is pretty accessible for common users.

We’d recommend this value-for-money beast if you give more value to performance than to budget-friendliness.

5. Powermatic PM2800B 1792800B Drill Press

For one, Powermatic PM2800B has an extremely expensive price tag. Still, it has been one of the most purchased floor drill press in the market.

Powermatic PM2800B 1792800B Drill Press Price: $1,599.99 Powermatic PM2800B 1792800B Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

We found some exclusive and useful features in this machine, such as the mechanical speed adjustment system. You don’t have to mess with the belts when it comes to changing the drilling speed.

The stop adjustment system helps you make repetitive drilling easier while the fence system is very good at keeping the wood pieces in the place. On the front side, you can spot the digital RPM speeds, which is great if you need to shift the speeds rapidly.

Despite its rugged build, managing the machine and drilling process is quite easy. You can get along, no matter which machine you were using previously.

6. Shop Fox W1848 Oscillating Floor Drill Press

Are you looking for a budget-friendly product for all of your professional tasks? Shop Fox W1848 is recommended by the professional who requires excellent performance in less budget. This product is from one of the most trusted and famous machinery and woodworking company in the US. Shop Fox manufactures it. This brand has more reputation in the international market due to the affordability, excellent quality, and features they provide on their products.

Shop Fox W1848 Oscillating Floor Drill Press Price: $494.99 Shop Fox W1848 Oscillating Floor Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/24/2019

It is powered by 3/4 HP motor & 110V voltage. This is enough according to us and you can choose the RPM speed range from 250-3050. (It depend upon the work). This is the perfect option for most of the drilling tasks and even in hard substances. Another thing which I liked the most in this drill is the 90-degree tilting table which can be used for angled drilling and most of the rotating tasks.

The weight of Shop Fox W1848 is something near about 122 pounds, and the size of this product is 24″ x 15″ x 63″. We know that it is floor mounted drill and the construction of this product made in a way to offer more power and versatility during the work. Another good thing about this product is the standing position drill. It is because most of the dust ports are visible and easy to clean due to the standing.

7. WEN 4227 13 Amp 12-Speed Floor Standing Drill Press, 17.”

If you prefer the drills for most of the metalworking tasks then WEN 4227 is for you. It is one of the best metalworking drills and also recommended by the professionals. It is also for those customers who are looking for decent performance at a reasonable price. WEN 4227 is also a standing drill press model. Since 70 years, this brand is manufacturing one of the most famous and excellent quality machines at reasonable prices. WEN has more reputation in the market, and the name of the brand is enough for the purchase.

WEN 4227 13 Amp 12-Speed Floor Standing Drill Press Price: WEN 4227 13 Amp 12-Speed Floor Standing Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/24/2019

WEN 4227 comes with a powerful, robust sports motor of 13.00 AMP. The maximum RPM speed of this drill is 2940. The one thing I liked the most about this product is there is no vibration during the operation and working. It also features an oversized table 14*14 and the laser system to make accurate cuts on the metal sheets.

The design and the durability of this product is next level. It comes with the same old orange, and black sporty design, and the WEN uses this color for all of the tools and machines. The weight of this machine is something near about 214 pounds along with the dimensions of 14″ x 30″ x 67″. There is no doubt it is quite significant in the size and the weight, but it is due to the standing capability.

8. SKIL 3320-01 3.2 Amp 10-Inch Drill Press

SKIL 3320-01 3.2 Amp 10-Inch Drill Press is available at an extremely low price. It also happens to be one of the most used drill presses in the market.

SKIL 3320-01 3.2 Amp 10-Inch Drill Press Price: $114.97 SKIL 3320-01 3.2 Amp 10-Inch Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

Despite the low price tag, it offers satisfactory performance; in terms of speed, you can choose between 570RPM to 3050RPM. There is also a Laser beam to make sure that your holes are precisely made. Because the working surface is tilting, it feels really easy to do angled drills. The surface can be tilted up to 45 degrees, which is great.

Speed control options are also a reason why SKIL 3320-01 3.2 Amp 10-Inch Drill Press is on this list. For a bench top drill press, the build is pretty classic and feels reliable while using the drill.

If not a performance beast, this drill-press machine is surely a value-for-money pick.

9. DEWALT DWE1622K 2-Speed Magnetic Drill Press

Looking for a budget-friendly beast? DEWALT DWE1622K makes enough sense, considering its garage-friendly design and 10amp powerful motor. Because it has dual speed ranges, you will have a smooth drilling experience in various materials. We also found the overload-blocking feature as very useful, especially when you’re on continuous woodworking projects.

DEWALT DWE1622K 2-Speed Magnetic Drill Press Price: $749.00 DEWALT DWE1622K 2-Speed Magnetic Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

The unique feature of this portable drill press is the design itself. DEWALT DWE1622K has also managed to place the buttons so well that it feels easy to control the working. Its Quick Change chuck system seemed pretty satisfactory too.

I’d recommend this to you if you have space constraints and need a budget-friendly benchtop drill press. DEWALT DWE1622K 2-Speed Magnetic Drill Press is surely the best deal you can get for the price tag.

10. RIKON 30-120 13-Inch Drill Press

Built with Solid Steel and Cast Iron, RIKON 30-120 is one of the best-built drilling presses in the market. For a machine of such a small size, we weren’t expecting much.

RIKON 30-120 13-Inch Drill Press Price: $430.08 RIKON 30-120 13-Inch Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

However, in fact, this press is offering 16 spindle speeds, the maximum being 3630RPM. As per our testing, its 0.5 Horsepower motor was suitable for drilling most materials.

Height adjustment in RIKON 30-120 is an easy task, thanks to the sturdy construction and single-turn handle system. Compared to the other machines, it has a weight of 121lbs, which is great if you’d move the drill press around.

At the end of the day, if you need standard performance and portable designs, you will find solace in this drill press.

11. Rockwell RK7033 Shop Series Drill Press

Rockwell RK7033 does not have fancy features but does the job very well. For example, you can choose the speeds from five levels, and the 2/3HP motor is powerful enough for beginner-level projects. If you are someone who is a beginner in drill presses, this machine is the best place to start things.

ShopSeries RK7033 6.2-Amp 10" Drill Press Price: $162.91 ShopSeries RK7033 6.2-Amp 10 Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

The bevelling table can be tilted 45 Degrees to the right or left, thus making Rockwell RK7033 suitable for the angled type of drilling. The Rack and pinion system of height adjustment is also good as far as usability goes. In light of our experience, we’d recommend this machine as a budget-friendly and powerful enough drill press for everyone, regardless of their level of experience.

12. JET 350017/JMD-15 Milling/Drilling Machine

As said, JET 350017 is a complete solution if you need the best performance while drilling. It offers all the benefits of being a one-piece device; we are talking about stability here. Every set of controls are arranged properly and can be accessed without much trouble. The sliding latch was quite useful while shifting RPM Speeds.

JET 350017/JMD-15 Milling/Drilling Machine Price: $1,999.00 JET 350017/JMD-15 Milling/Drilling Machine Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

Compared to other models we tried, JET 350017 has a larger work area. It’s highly recommended if you have bigger pieces of wood. The swiveling head is 360 Degree movable, which is great when you have versatile woodworking projects.

Thanks to the two features, this drill press can work fine with thicker and larger wood pieces. And, the 1 Horsepower machine is powerful enough, it seemed.

If you ask me why it’s here, the reason will be high performance and stability-enhancing design.

13. Jet JDP-17 3/4 HP Drill Press

Another valuable product from Jet, this floor drill press is the perfect bang-for-the-buck machine. Equipped with a 0.75 Horsepower motor inside, this drilling press performs quite well with even the toughest pieces of wood we tried. Due to the comparatively smaller design, it feels really easy to manage speeds and it offers a kind of advanced mobility while working too, especially with repetitive drilling.

Jet JDP-17 3/4 hp Drill Press Price: $1,259.99 Jet JDP-17 3/4 hp Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/09/2019

This is accompanied by the single-hand speed-adjusting system. If you want to shift from one speed to next, it’s not necessary to take both your hands off.

It too comes with a depth stop so that you don’t have to be ultra-conscious during continuous drilling. In case if you are security conscious, the power control section is coupled with a safety switch too.

Due to these features and powerful design, Jet JDP-17 is the perfect budget-friendly choice.

14. SHOP FOX W1669 1/2-HP Radial Drill Press

Another budget pick in our list is SHOP FOX W1669. It is again from one of the popular tools and machine making companies in the US. SHOP FOX is not only a name; it is a brand that is trusted by the professionals and the customers who are using their tools.

FOX W1669 1/2-Hp Benchtop Radial Drill Press Price: $377.40 FOX W1669 1/2-Hp Benchtop Radial Drill Press Full Disclosure: We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Last Updated: 09/24/2019

It comes with a powerful horsepower motor of 1/2 HP, 110V Voltage along with 5A batteries. SHOP FOX W1669 comes with a 5-speed rotating dial that offers the speed up to 3470 RPM. The thing I liked the most about this product is the 90-degree tilting table which is useful for most of the angled operations.

If I talk about the weight, then it is one of the lightweight models. It only weighs around 100 pounds and the height of the machine is something near 31-1/2″. This is the only thing that makes us feel discomfort while working in a sitting zone. It should be smaller in size to make it better according to the customer perspective.

In the end, Overall performance is excellent, and if you are looking for a drill press for most of the medium to hard operations, then this one is for you.

How to Use a Drill Press?

Most of the customers usually do not know about the operating part after purchasing the drill. It is because they do try to use without reading the user manual and the guides over the internet. It is also for the first time users of a drilling machine. If the categories comply with you as well, then let’s have a look at the operation manual which we have posted here.

How to Use a Drill Press

We know that the controls and the functions are different and vary from one drill to the another, but most of the elements of a drill press remain the same in every machine. It is always recommended from the manufacturer and other professionals to read the user manual provided along with the machine for better understandings and usage. Let me add some primary material for the usage but keep it unplugged while you are setting it up.

1. Set the Speed

Most of the drill press comes with adjustable speed modes and buttons. You can change the speed by moving the drive belt from one side to the another. The smaller pulley on the chuck axis and the faster the drill will spin. It is suitable for any cutting operations, but again the slower speeds are always recommended for cutting any metals and the faster for woods. I still ask you to read the user manual for the same.

2. Fit the Belt

You need to open the chuck and the slide in a bit. After that, you need to snug the chuck with your hands near bit shafts and then tight the chucks with three-jaw keys. You need to remove the chuck before using, and if you don’t, then there are some chances that it will become a dangerous projectile.

Adjust the table: Some of the drills machines has this option to set the hight area of the table. You can set it accordingly for better comfortability.

3. Gauging the Depth

Most of the drills machines allows the customer to set the gauging bottom. It is the threaded rod which controls the distance and spindle levels.

Secure the workpiece: Before the operation, make sure that the workpiece is fixed and ready for the drill. It is because the rotation of the drill may try to spin the metal sheet or workplace. Therefore, it is better to get it fixed before any operation.

Drilling: You are now ready for the drilling. Once you completed the drill press setup, then you are prepared to use your drill at your workplace. You can check for the speed and other functions and check out if they are working correctly. You can refer to the user manual for more information about the usage.

How To Buy The Drill Press?

Here, we have covered a few things you should know before purchasing a drill press machine. Shall we start with a common confusion you need to get rid of?

best drill press

Build Quality

Build Quality is surely an important factor. You are going to drill different types of planks using this machine and it should be powerful enough to manage them all. Also, when the machine is rugged & cool, you don’t have to worry about vibrations or the lack of accuracy. Chances are, your product will last long too.

Accuracy

The accuracy of a drilling press is determined by different factors, including the motor and aiming system. For instance, some drilling presses are equipped with a laser pointer, which shows where the drilling would be done. It’s quite useful when you need precise holes on a sensitive piece of equipment. If a machine has a superb drilling system as well, you can make sure that the holes are perfect.

Power

Power is another factor that you can decide according to your requirements. However, if you are one professional who grows in the span of time, you can go for a comparatively powerful machine. You’d have to use different speeds and different levels of intensity with various types of materials and extra purposes. For instance, you can also convert most drill presses into Sanders.

Safety

Safety, even if you compromise in other areas, should have the primary importance. Make sure that your machine has at least the basic security assurances, such as overload protection. It’s great if you can go for additional perks, but it may cost a bit. Easier controls and high-quality parts will enhance the safety levels quite drastically. You should also follow these tips regularly to avoid issues.

There are a few additional features that you can go for, an example being the Stop system. This is an awesome feature when you are into repetitive drilling needs. That is, you can set the machine to stop drilling when it reaches a particular depth. It can be set using the depth handle and lock system. In the same way, you can find other features like the mechanical speed changer single-handed toggle of speeds.

A perfect drill press — whether benchtop or floor — will have all these features inside, which is a great thing, we believe.

Benchtop vs Floor Drill Press

As the name says, Benchtop drill presses can be kept on your workbench or some other place in your garage. Being somewhat portable, you can’t expect high-performance machines in this category. However, the sole point of this distinction is based on convenience. If you prefer drilling by standing, this would be quite good.

On the other hand, Floor Drill Press machines can be placed on the floor and used. These are also known as Standing Drill Presses and tend to be a bit expensive than others. When compared to benchtop models, you can use this type of machines for heavy-duty woodworking projects. Management is also easier.

Final Verdict

Besides cutting wood, drilling holes is something that most woodworkers deal with on a day-to-day basis. Although hand powered drills are the preferred choice with workers in the workshop because they take less storage, they are not accurate and easy to use. A drill press is a more practical option as they can drill holes with accuracy, along with a range of other features. Accuracy and ease-of-use are just two of the many reasons why one should opt for drill press over hand drill. Understanding the benefits and features of a drill press is very important before you make the big purchase, and we hope this comprehensive guide will serve the purpose right for you to find for yourself the best drill press for yourself.

11 thoughts on “Best Drill Press Reviews 2019 – Reviews & Buying Guide”

  1. I bought the WEN 4212 10-Inch Variable Speed Drill Press and I got to say is the best one out of all the ones. Thank you!

  2. Great comparison Christopher and very helpful.
    I’m just waiting for Black Friday sale to order my new Delta 18-900L 18-Inch Laser Drill Press.

  3. Very nice design and well written Mr.Ewart, I enjoyed reading a lot! I’m trying to find a good drill press to give to my hubby on his birthday and you are being excellent help. He always says he wants the best, no matter the cost, because “you get what you pay for” haha, which one would you recommend for him? Thanks in advance!

    • Hey Tiffany,hope you’re having a great day. If he loves quality above everything else, I’d have to go with the Delta 18-900L. It’s big, potent and will last a lifetime. It’s very sweet of you to take the time to find your hubby a good gift, I’d sure love it if my wife did the same for me. Have fun!

  4. Hi please recommend a drill press for me please. I need it to be able to put holes in spoons forks etc for me. Kind regards Margaret from 🇮🇪

Leave a Comment